NYC Ramble About A Path to Follow

In DSCF0313 July of 2014, my dad passed away.   In  January of that year,  an artist painted a lovely picture of a bird for him. By March he was bed bound.  In June, my sister indicated that he didn’t want anyone to come and see him.  So, for fathers’ day,  I wrote a poem  about  a bird which to me represented the essence of his spirit.

Dad

When I think of you,

I think of a bird.

A bird who flies so very high,

The sky is not his limit,

as his dreams take him far.

The wind beneath every feather,

as he tackles all sorts of weather.

He bobs and weaves throughout the sky

He makes people happy without a doubt.

The nest he builds,

he builds for many.

And feeds their souls, their hearts,

their minds.

A bird that has color without being 

proud.

The song he sings,

isn’t too loud.

It sounds like the subtle music of a chant.

Forever in the ear,

for those who wish to hear.

July of 2014, the morning of my dad’s passing, my brother, was presented with a single feather by one of his employees.  Nobody in my family,  with the exception of my sister and my mother, knew about the poem I had written to my father.  Consistently, I find feathers along the streets, beaches, behind the seat of the car my dad owned, on the streets of NYC.  I have even found them in other people’s homes.   Fifteen minutes after finding out my uncle and close friend of my dad passed away I found a feather attached to my blanket. 

DSCN4012 Fathers Day 2015, was spent with my mom in Florida.  Rather than attend church services,  I decided to take a walk, sit quietly and sip my morning coffee.   I spotted a cardinal foraging for some food, remaining seated I watched  him for sometime before he took flight.  He returned about a minute later, this time he landed about two feet from where I was sitting. Without warning he flew up on a ledge to my left, looked straight at me and proceeded on his way once more.   At that moment I was sure it was my fathers spirit coming to visit me. How comforted, reassured and peaceful, I felt for the remainder of the day. 

In my mind’s eye, the feathers I’ve seen, pave a path.  A path of a free spirit, to follow where your’ dreams take you farther than you ever thought possible. Thanks Dad.

Leave a comment